Child successfully clenching fist

Being Successful: It’s Not Always Something Your Good At

Maybe it’s something your bad at.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been told that I should do something simply because it’s something that I was good at. I feel like I have a lot of talents, but that doesn’t necessarily mean that I want to be doing that thing for the rest of my life. For example; I was great at making subs at SubWay, but that sure as hell doesn’t mean that I want to do that for the remaining years of my life. Not at all.

Thumbs up for drinkingWhen it comes to success, there is always something in it for us. We must feel rewarded somehow to say that we are successful. There is some form of satisfaction from accomplishing something that is attributed with what we often consider success. Overcoming a challenge or taking something to the next level, it doesn’t really matter. So we can see that success might more likely stem from something that we are not necessarily good at or something that we haven’t done before. I was once told that I couldn’t play Kings with Jagermeister, I proved them all wrong when someone drew an ace and it was time for a waterfall. Despite the fact that I blacked out nearly instantly afterward chugging 3/4 of the bottle and woke up in a tub to find out that my ex was taking care of me the whole night while I vomited everywhere, I felt some form of success the next day knowing that I drank that bottle like a fucking champ.

So remember kids, challenge yourself at something to feel successful. Success is rarely the easy the road, and that’s what makes it so great when you finally arrive there.

One thought on “Being Successful: It’s Not Always Something Your Good At

Got something to say?

