Joshua Breeze of “HighSociety MG” Interview

Joshua Breeze of HighSociety MG

We love a lot of the talent emerging in the hip hop music arena, and HighSociety MG is definitely on our radar. A musician named Joshua Breeze from Virginia started this awesome music collective back in 2010. Today we have an exclusive interview with him to find out more about him and his record label.

Check out this dope track by HighSociety while you read the interview below.

Why did you get started in music?

I remember being in middle school watching kids freestyle during lunch & it always used to be the same shit from “I sell drugs” to “I’ll take yo bitch” & it never really stuck with me until I got into high school and really started paying attention to lyrics. Ever since then I gave up mainstream artists like Wayne & Ross and traded up for artists like Tribe Called Quest & AZ. Honestly if it wasn’t for my deep fascination of the underground I probably wouldn’t be making music today.

How long have you been making music?

I’ve been writing & composing music for five years now.

What’s the idea behind your record label?

We’ll I formed Highsociety Music Group as a means to surround myself with music & people who have the same goals cause honestly that’s the only way to do it. All the artists I work with have a common interest in bringing back the 90’s era of originality & dopeness where being different is embraced and not taboo we all must think out of the box and stop trying to be like the artists we see on TV. I specialize in Mixing & Mastering as well as Production. I just hope to one day get my foot in the door and have the chance to experience life on tour.

How did you all meet?

We went to high school together so it was only a matter of time before we came across each other but the first artist I ever worked with professionally is D-ron.

What is the craziest thing that has happened with the group?

Had our release party for Above the Clouds at tech & partied that weekend at Radford. It was 48 hours of pure unadulterated madness from the ecstasy fueled dance battles at 3am in the middle of the street to the actual show.

What tools do you use for your music creation?

Pro Tools LE & a MIDI keyboard.

What’s the worst advice you’ve ever gotten?

Not so much bad advice I’d say more along the lines of not getting enough advice.

What’s the biggest mistake that you’ve ever made?

Not learning how to make beats earlier, I’m still struggling to catch up.

Who has been the funnest artist that you have been able to work with and why?

I’d say D-ron because he’s one of those artists that’s always ready to put in work.

What was the best show that you have performed?

Halloween at Virginia Tech even though we were packed in tight we showed out lots of alcohol, Buddah & skimpy costumes you cant go wrong with that.

Who is your favorite new artists out in the hip hop world?

Kendrick Lamar, Chip tha Ripper, Dom Kennedy, Cassey Veggies, School Boy Q, Big K.R.I.T., Curren$y I’m sure you get the picture.

Who has been your biggest influence and why?

I would say I influence myself cause at the end of the day if you want something done right YOU have to do it yourself.

What can we look forward to seeing from you musically in the future?

A lot more projects & More Videos we’re looking to take over the game and reinstate the dopeness of what once was the 90’s.

And that concludes our interview, be sure to check out the links below to find Josh and the rest of the HighSociety group on your favorite sites.

Joshua Breeze Links:

ReverbNation.com/Breeze703

New music video “C.R.E.A.M. 2012” Prod by Chris Calor

High Society Music Group Links:

YouTube.com/HighSocietyMG

Facebook.com/HighSocietyMG

Twitter.com/HighSocietyMG

Got something to say?

